FAQ 1. When was UPM established?   2. What does UPM stand for? 3. Where is UPM located?  4. What is the goal of UPM?  5. How do I get to UPM?  6. Does UPM provide any student accommodation?   7. What facilities are provided in UPM?  8. Where can I find information on the entry requirements?  9. What programmes are offered at UPM?  10. What is the concept of a Research Cluster?  11. What are the faculties in UPM?  12. UPM is a research university. What is the meaning of a research university?  

1.     Answer : Universiti Putra Malaysia was first established as the School of Agriculture in 1931. In 1947, the school was upgraded to the College of Agriculture Malaya by Sir Edward Gent, the then Governor of the Malayan Union. The establishment of Universiti Pertanian Malaysia came about when the College of Agriculture in Serdang merged with the Faculty of Agriculture, University of Malaya. In 1997, the name, Universiti Pertanian Malaysia was changed to Universiti Putra Malaysia by former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohammad, as a strategic gesture to portray the status of UPM as a centre of higher education capable of providing various other fields of study, especially in science and information technology, which facilitate national development in the new milennium.2.     Answer:UPM is an acronym for Universiti Putra Malaysia.3.     Answer:The main campus of UPM is located between Kula Lumpur, the capital city of Malaysia, and the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA). It is approximately 25km south of Kuala Lumpur and 45km from KLIA. UPM has a branch campus in Bintulu, Sarawak, East Malaysia.A 4.     Answer:1) To attract outstanding students and to produce knowledgeable and competitive graduates2) To elevate achievements in research and innovation to international levels3) To intensify community involvement for the generation and sharing of knowledge4) To strengthen UPM as a centre of excellence in education, research and services in agriculture and tropical biosources5) To improve the governance and management of resources based on best practice6) To reinforce the position of the Putra Business School (formerly known as the Graduate School of Management) as a Top Business School (TBS)5.     Answer:Students are able to get to UPM by taking a train commuter to Serdang station from KL Sentral in Kuala Lumpur and then the bus from the Serdang station to UPM6.     Answer:Yes, UPM has 17 residential colleges for which students can apply, subject to availability.7.     Answer:Various facilities are available for the comfort of the students and staff such as ICT, library, halls, cafeteria, security services, mosque, in-campus transportation, sports & recreations, medical clinic, accommodation, banking & postal services and veterinary hospital.8.     Answer:The general academic entry requirements are available at for undergraduate studies and at for postgraduate studies.9.     Answer:UPM offers programmes for undergraduate and postgraduate levels and additional information can be found on the UPM website (  Answer :The Research Cluster concept in UPM is in line with the current need for multi-disciplinary approaches in solving research problems. UPM has established six Research Clusters which are agriculture, food, health, forestry and environment, science, technology & engineering, and social sciences.11.  Answer:- There are 16 faculties in UPM: 1) Faculty of Agriculture2) Faculty of Forestry3) Faculty of Veterinary Medicine4) Faculty of Economics and Management6) Faculty of Engineering7) Faculty of Educational Studies8) Faculty of Science9) Faculty of Food Science and Technology10) Faculty of Human Ecology11) Faculty of Modern Language and Communication12) Faculty of Design and Architecture13) Faculty of Medicine and Health Science14) Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology15) Faculty of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences16) Faculty of Environmental Studies17) Faculty of Agriculture and Food Sciences (UPMKB) 12. Answer:Research universities are public universities recognised by the Cabinet on 11th October 2006 to become leading research and educational hubs. Research universities comprised� the following five (5) public universities: 1) University of Malaya (UM)2) Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)3) Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)4) Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)5) Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM)6) Key elements of a Research University:7) Fields of study focusing on research8) Competitive entry requirements9) Quality lecturers A ratio of 1:1 of undergraduates to postgraduates      

Frequently Ask Question:1. What are the programmes offered by the Faculty of Agriculture and Food Sciences?2. How do I apply to enter programmes offered by the Faculty of Science?3. How long does it take to complete the Bachelor and diploma programme? 4. What is minimum length of time to complete a Master or PhD programme?

Under Maintenance.

Updated:: 23/01/2014 [lanz]


UPM Bintulu Sarawak Campus,
P.O Box 396, Nyabau Road,
97008 Bintulu, Sarawak,